Sub-Zero PreservationWolf

Press Release

Sub-Zero and Wolf Announce 2010-2012 Kitchen Design Contest Regional Winners

Online Voting Open for Designer's Choice, People's Choice Awards

MADISON, Wis. (April 16, 2013) — Sub-Zero, Inc. and Wolf Appliance, Inc. — the industry leaders in refrigeration, wine storage and cooking equipment — today revealed the 54 national and international regional winners of their 2010-2012 Kitchen Design Contest. Seven distinguished industry professionals evaluated more than 1,600 entries to determine the finalists who best used Sub-Zero and Wolf appliances in their kitchen design projects.

"The Kitchen Design Contest is our way of honoring the design community and the significant role they play in making Sub-Zero and Wolf household names when it involves beautiful kitchen design," said Michele Bedard, vice president of marketing for Sub-Zero and Wolf. "These 54 regional winners truly represent achievement in kitchen design, and we celebrate their talent and work."

Grand prize design categories for the Kitchen Design Contest include two awards that will be determined via online voting: Designer's Choice and, new to the 2010-2012 contest, People's Choice. The Designer's Choice winner will be determined by online votes from members of the design trade, while People's Choice voting is open to the public via Facebook. Online voting opened April 1, 2013, and will run through April 30. Links to online voting appear at

"Our new People's Choice award will expand the influence of the Kitchen Design Contest, and we hope friends and family of regional winners — as well as anyone who appreciates fine kitchen design — will participate in the online voting," said Bedard. "We look forward to announcing the winning designers as chosen by the public and the design community and awarding them each a $15,000 cash prize."

All 54 Kitchen Design Contest regional winners (listed below) will receive a trip for two to the Kitchen Design Contest gala May 21-22, 2013, in Madison, Wis., at the corporate headquarters, where the grand prize winners will be announced.


Gary Striegler of Craftsman Builders Inc.

Caroline DeCesare of DeCesare Design Group
Teresa Rosano of Ibarra Rosano Design Architect

Cynthia Carlson of Dotterweich Carlson Mehner Design & Architecture, Inc.
Stacy Eisenmann of Eisenmann Architecture
Cynthia Stern of DRP International Design Inc.
Chris Tosdevin of Bulthaup Santa Montica
Courtney Ziething of CC and Company

Mikal Otten of Exquisite Kitchen Design

Lindy Weaver of Lindy Weaver Design Associates

Luis Bebchik of hausScape
Michelle Marek Drysdale of Bespoke Design & Consulting
Carlos Prio Touzet of Touzet Studio

Roger DeWeese of Peachtree Architects
Barbara Westbrook of Westbrook Interiors

Kristen Totah of Studio K Kitchens and Design

Mick DeGiulio of De Giulio Kitchen Design
Jean Stoffer of Jean Stoffer Design

Rob Klein of Conceptual Kitchens & Millwork

Adolfo Perez of Adolfo Perez, Architect
Karen Swanson of New England Design Works

Janice Morse of Designs Unlimited

Tim Bjella of Bjella Architecture

Philip Durham of Studio/Durham Architects

Hunter Dominick of Hunter & Co.

New Jersey
Antoinette Fraser of St. Clair Kitchen & Home
Heidi Piron of Heidi Piron Design and Cabinetry
Holly Rickert of Holly Rickert Designing Your Environment

New York
Michael Neumann of Michael Neumann Architecture
Barry Price of Barry Price Architecture
John Starck, Jr. of Showcase Kitchens
Karen Williams of St. Charles of New York, Inc.

North Carolina
Ruard Veltman of Ruard Veltman Architecture, Inc.

John Senhauser of John Senhauser Architects
Libby Palmieri of House of L

Fernando Guerra of Spogue & Company

South Carolina
Adrienne Fulmer of Postcard from Paris

Jennifer Markanich of Timeless Interiors, LLC

Chris Olexy of Co & Company
Doyle Osborne of Osborne Cabinets and Millwork, Inc.

Ann Rumble of KDW Home
Eric Lieberknecht of Eric Lieberknecht Design

Aaron Magula of Dream Builders

Nick Blavat of Deep River Partners, Ltd.

Elaine Cecconi of Cecconi Simone Inc.
Mitchell Freedland of Mitchell Freedland Design
Friedemann Weinhardt of Design First Interiors

Cristina Menezes of Cristina Menezes Arquitetura Decorçãao e Urbanismo

Great Britain
Jane Stewart of Mowlem & Co.

Mauro Mombelli of Cafarelli & Cafarelli — Proposte di Arredo

Mauricio Rodriguez of Irlo

Davy Swanenberg of Culimaat Kitchens

New Zealand
Morgan Cronin of Cronin Kitchens Ltd

Lana Grineva of Philosophy of Design

The expertise of the 2010-2012 Kitchen Design Contest panel of judges spans multiple disciplines within the kitchen design industry and includes contest winners and veteran judges. The seven internationally known design experts evaluated and selected regional winners based on superior use of space, beautiful kitchen design, and integration of Sub-Zero and Wolf products. Judges are Doug Durbin of nuHaus, Highland Park, Ill.; E.J. Meade of Arch 11, Inc., Boulder, Colo.; Jamie Drake of Drake Design Associates, New York, N.Y.; Jeannine Clark of Mannigan Design, Pasadena, Calif.; Joanne Hudson of Joanne Hudson Associates, Philadelphia, Pa.; Matthew Quinn of Design Galleria, Atlanta, Ga.; and Vasi Ypsilantis of The Breakfast Room, Ltd., Manhasset, N.Y.

More than $140,000 in cash prizes will be distributed to the grand prize winners during the Kitchen Design Contest gala. Winners will be selected in the following categories:

First Place Traditional Kitchen

First Place Contemporary Kitchen

Second Place (any kitchen style)

Third Place (any kitchen style)

Designer's Choice Award

People's Choice Award

North American Student Winner

Eligibility for the Kitchen Design Contest required that all design and construction be fully completed within the contest period of January 1, 2010, through October 31, 2012. Qualifying designs had to include at least one full-size Sub-Zero built-in or integrated refrigeration unit and at least one Wolf cooking appliance as primary food preparation equipment, including ranges, rangetops, ovens and cooktops. For more information on the contest, visit

Use a Factory Certified installer and receive an extra year of full warranty.